Hamilton to take a break from ‘intense’ PDC circuit

 

Stoke based darts player Andy Hamilton has announced that he will not be entering the PDC Q-School tournament to retain his tour card for 2018.

Following his failure to qualify for the 2018 PDC World Darts Championship, the 50-year-old dropped out of the top 64 on the PDC order of merit and therefore would have to enter Q-School to regain his tour card.

 

Despite this, Hamilton has said he will enter the Riley’s UK Open qualifiers in the coming months as he looks to qualify for the Minehead finals In March.

In a statement released on twitter, ‘The Hammer’ said: “I have come to the decision that I will not be entering the 2018 PDC Q-School. My career however has not ended, I have made the decision regrettably, but I must perfect my well-being before continuing with the intense circuit that takes the main shape of the PDC.

Embed from Getty Images

“My confidence has taken a big knock, much of my personal life has been highlighted over recent years and of course certain things haven’t helped my career (depression and anxiety).”

Hamilton has promised that in 2018 that he will ‘go back to basics’, entering more BDO (British Darts Organization) events and continuing to play in the local leagues.

The high point in Hamilton’s career came in 2012 where he was runner-up in the PDC World Darts Championship and also made the Premier league semi-finals.

By Josh Green

Leave a comment